Saturday, May 23, 2015

Love and Other Perishable Items Review

Love and Other Perishable ItemsTITLE: Love and Other Perishable Items
AUTHOR: Laura Buzo
PUBLISHER: Alfred A. Knopf
PUBLICATION DATE: 12/11/2012
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 243
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING:

INSIDE COVER SUMMARY: Love is: heart-wrenching, tongue-tying, butterfly-inducing. But most of all, love is awkward.

Amelia should know.

From the moment she sets eyes on Chris, she is a goner. Lost. Sunk. Head over heals infatuated with him. It's problematic, since Chris, 21, is a sophisticated university student, while Amelia, 15, is 15.

Amelia isn't stupid. She knows it's not gonna happen. So she plays it cool around Chris--at least, as cool as she can. Working checkout together at the local supermarket, they strike up a friendship: swapping life stories; bantering about everything from classic books to B movies; and cataloging the many injustices of growing up. Their conversations crackle with wit and repressed longing, and as time goes on, Amelia's crush doesn't seem so one-sided anymore. But if Chris likes her back, what then? Can two people in such different places in life really be together?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I enjoyed this book. It's a quick contemporary, but it still has depth to it. I feel like it's really relateable because what teenage girl hasn't had a crush on an older boy?
I really enjoyed the references to all of the other books, I just wish I had actually read the books they were referencing so I could know more what they were talking about. But this was a solid, enjoyable book that I would recommend.

CHARACTERS: I liked both Amelia and Chris. I felt that they were believable. Amelia's parents made me angry though. I was extremely agitated about the fact that they would just expose their kids to all of that secondhand smoke and act annoyed when Amelia complained about it.

COVER: The cover is adorable. The mason jar is cute, the font is cute, the layout is cute. Cuteness all around.

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children Review

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children (Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children, #1)TITLE: Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
AUTHOR: Ransom Riggs
PUBLISHER: Quirk Books
PUBLICATION DATE: 6/7/2011
FORMAT: ebook
PAGES: 352
SOURCE: Library
MY RATING: 

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying o a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow--impossible though it seems--they may still be alive.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I don't know exactly what I expected this book to be like, but it was a lot different than I thought it would be. I had pretty high hopes before going into this book and I was a little let down. The book was still good, but I guess with everything that I had heard about it, I thought I was going to enjoy it a lot more.

I liked seeing all of the pictures throughout the books. They were super creepy and added to the feel of the story.

I enjoyed learning about all of the peculiars and what each of them could do. I'm excited to see what's going to happen next in the story and also what is going to happen to Miss Peregrine.

CHARACTERS: I really hope to see more of Olive in the next books. I like her ability and her personality. I'm also intrigued by Millard and Enoch, and all of the children really.

COVER: The cover is very creepy and fits right in with the rest of the book.

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Unicorn On A Roll Review

Unicorn on a Roll (Heavenly Nostrils, #2)TITLE: Unicorn on a Roll (Heavenly Nostrils #2)
AUTHOR: Dana Simpson
PUBLISHER: Andrews McMeel Publishing
PUBLICATION DATE: 5/26/2015
FORMAT: eARC
PAGES: 224
SOURCE: Netgalley
MY RATING:

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): The magical friendship of Phoebe and her best friend, unicorn Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, is back in this second adventure of a girl and her mythical creature!

One year has passed since Phoebe skipped a rock across a pond, accidentally hit a unicorn in the face, and was granted a single wish--which she used to make the unicorn, Marigold Heavenly Nostrils, her obligational best friend. In some ways, not much has changed. At school Phoebe still clashes with her rival--and sometimes "frenemy"--the ever-taunting and imperious Dakota. Outside of school, she still fills her free time with extra-credit homework assignments, dramatic monologues about the injustices associated with school cliques, and imaginative conspiracy theories regarding global forces like the "powerful construction paper lobby." But unlike before, Phoebe now has a best friend to share it with--someone to make her laugh and to listen to all her extravagant ideas.

In this second volume of Heavenly Nostrils, titled, Unicorn on a Roll, the reader is invited on a journey into the lives of Phoebe and Marigold as they navigate the difficulties of grade school, celebrate the winter holidays, and explore their super hero/super villain personas together. Join in the fun, as Phoebe competes against Dakota for the leading role of "Lisa Ladybug" in their fourth-grade-play--or as she struggles to "manage" the PR debacle related to her nose-picking-scandal. ("I will neither confirm nor deny the events surrounding Boogergate.") Witness a band of unicorns staging an "intervention" and learn all the details of Marigold's secret crush on a mysterious creature she has never seen. Perhaps most important, watch as this surprising friendship between a charming, nine-year-old dreamer and a vain, mythical beast forever changes both of them for the better.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I really enjoyed this book. I haven't read the first in the series because I didn't realize it was a series, but I don't think that took away too much from the second story. There were some parts of the story where I felt like it was randomly jumping around and I didn't quite know what was going on, but overall the story was really fun. It was very cute and quirky and I actually found myself chuckling out loud at quite a few points throughout the book.




CHARACTERS: I love Marigold Heavenly Nostrils (the unicorn). She was so vain and full of herself that it was humorous. Phoebe (the main character) was also a great character. I can see lots of 5th grade age range girls loving her.

COVER: I like the cover. It's purple, which is my favorite, and has the two main characters from the book on it.

**I received an eARC of this graphic novel from Netgalley for my honest review.**

Monday, May 18, 2015

The Motherless Child Project Review (Audio)

The Motherless Child Project (Book 1)TITLE: The Motherless Child Project
AUTHOR: Janie McQueen & Robin Karr
NARRATOR: Wendy Pitts
PUBLISHER: Burning Sage Publishing Company
PUBLICATION DATE: 3/13/2015
FORMAT: Audio
LENGTH: 4 Hours & 36 Minutes
SOURCE: Audiobook Blast & Wendy Pitts
MY RATING: 

SUMMARY (From Goodreads): In her 16-year-old upscale Charleston, South Carolina life, the biggest problems Emily Amber Rose has had to face run along the lines of designing alternative Halloween costumes, losing five pounds before school pictures, sourcing aromatherapy candles, and finding a bridesmaid dress out of season.

Until she hears an old gospel song that leads her to wonder who she really is.

A dangerous crush, a disturbing world of police, judges, phony mental evaluations, and disappearing parents...

How can a routine school assignment go so wrong?

MY THOUGHTS: I loved this book so much. I was so enthralled with the story and was flying through it to find out what was going to happen next. The story itself was really interesting. I enjoyed reading about the relationship that develops between Emily Amber (the main character) and Bright (one of the kids who ends up joining Emily Amber's online forum). I am hoping that there is a book 2 in the works because I would really like to see where the story goes and I'm interesting in finding out what happens to Bright.

I didn't really enjoy the narrator on this book. To me, I just felt like she kind of mushes her words together, but I was still able to enjoy the story in spite of that. I also really liked that I got to hear the "Motherless Child" song throughout the book.

**I received an audible copy of this book from Audiobook Blast and Wendy Pitts for my honest review.**

COYER Scavenger Hunt Sign up

COYER_ScavHuntLogo-SignUp

This is the first time I've ever heard of this event. I'm super excited to try it out, but also a little bit nervous because there is a TON of stuff to do and it seems a little overwhelming. I'm going to give it a shot though and see how I do. As with most events I participate in, I don't really have any specific goals that I want to aim for other than just reading a bunch and participating as much as possible. I'm really excited to give this a go!