Monday, June 19, 2017

Review: 10 Things I Can See From Here (ARC)

10 Things I Can See from HereTITLE: 10 Things I Can See From Here
AUTHOR: Carrie Mac
PUBLISHER: Alfred A. Knopf
PUBLICATION DATE: 2/28/2017
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 320
SOURCE: Amazon Vine/Publisher
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄 + 1/2

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): Think positive. Don't worry; be happy. Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it's not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom--the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through--is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn't seem to worry about anything. Between her dad's wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I personally deal with anxiety, so I was interested to see how they would approach that aspect of the book. The book itself is pretty morbid. My anxiety is different than Maeve's so it wasn't too difficult for me to read this book. But I feel like someone with severe anxiety would be triggered into a panic attack by reading this with as many terrible facts and situations that Maeve is constantly listing. It was really exhausting for me trying to keep up with everything that went through her head. But after all of that, I really enjoyed the ending and especially the last scene.

COVER:  I love simple covers with pretty typography, so I love this cover.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: May 2017

Physical Books Read:
The Dead InsideTextrovertJust a Normal TuesdayLooking for GroupSummerlostWorthyThe Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, #1)Aftercare InstructionsHere We Are: Feminism for the Real World


May Book Haul


May OwlCrate - Comics


May J.K. Rowling's Wizarding World Box - The Dark Arts


That's it for my haul this month. I have acquired some new books in May, but the whole moving thing has life a little hectic. That being said, I've finally moved in and started getting things in order so next month I should be able to be more organized and share the books I've acquired. In the meantime, here's a picture of my new library mid setup. It's been quite time consuming trying to get it set up, but it's coming along.






Monday, May 8, 2017

Wrap Up: April 2017

Physical Books Read:

Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, #1)Geekerella

Audio Books Read:

Bad Feminist: Essays


April Book Haul:


I got a bunch of ARCs this month, but as I said in my last wrap-up post, I'm going to be moving, so things have been pretty crazy around here. the move in date is set for later this month, so May's Wrap-up may be a little short as well, but I'm hoping to be back to normal for June.

Reviews Written:
Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (3.5/5)


Monday, April 24, 2017

Review: Our Chemical Hearts (ARC)

Our Chemical HeartsTITLE: Our Chemical Hearts
AUTHOR: Krystal Sutherland 
PUBLISHER: G.P. Putnam's Sons
PUBLICATION DATE: 10/4/2016
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 320
SOURCE:Amazon Vine 
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄 + 1/2

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can't-eat-can't-sleep kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him--at least not yet. Instead, he's been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change.

Grace isn't who Henry pictured as his dream girl--she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn't your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland's brilliant debut is equal parts with and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: This book had been on my radar for a while, so I was excited to jump right in. I love all of the relevant references throughout the book -- Facebook, Spotify, Mad-eye Moody, etc. I wonder if those things will change in the future or if people who read this book in the future will wonder what the author was talking about.

This story is gutwrenchingly (is that a word?) heartbreaking. I went back and forth between being so angry at Grace for the way she treats Henry and then filled with sympathy for her situation.

CHARACTERS: As I mentioned above, Grace makes me angry with the way that she treats Henry, but at the same time I just felt so much sympathy for her and what she was dealing with that I would almost forgive her, then she would do something else to make me angry at her again.

COVER: Obsessed with the cover. The color of those fish is gorgeous!

**I received an ARC of this book for my honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced in any way.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul March 2017

Physical Books Read

Caraval (Caraval, #1)The Pants Project

Audio Books Read

The Handmaid's TaleThirteen Reasons WhyTalking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between)

March Book Haul

I'm in the process of moving and unfortunately, I've already packed up most of my books including the new books I got this month so all I've got to show you is the book that was included in this month's Owlcrate. The theme was Sailors, Ships, and Seas.

Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1)