Friday, April 18, 2014

Faking Normal Review

Faking Normal

TITLE: Faking Normal
AUTHOR: Courtney C. Stevens
PUBLISHER: Harper Teen
PUBLICATION DATE: 4/1/2014
PAGES: 336
MY RATING:


BACK COVER SUMMARY: Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she doesn't want to talk about that night at her backyard pool.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I loved this book. I feel like this book is an updated version of "Speak" by Laurie Halse Anderson, which I loved as well (you can read my review here). It has the same feel to it, but it feels a little more recent. I had some theories while I was reading the book about what was going on and who did what, some things I guess correctly, but I was shocked by one of the revelations we learn. I just thought this was a very well done novel and I'm glad to have read it.

CHARACTERS: The main character in this book just breaks my heart. She's dealing with so many emotional issues and I just feel so bad for her. I really like Bodee. He's so sweet and is great with helping Alexi even though he's going through his own heartbreaking situation. I found out that there is a prequel to this book called "The Blue-Haired Boy" all about Bodee's life and I'm really interested in checking it out.

COVER: I like the cover. The girl on the cover is such a natural beauty, and I feel like she fits the image of the main character in the story. 

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review.

Thursday, April 10, 2014

Divergent Trilogy Review

Divergent Series Complete Box Set

TITLE: Divergent -Insurgent - Allegiant
AUTHOR: Veronica Roth
PUBLISHER: Katherine Tegen Books
PUBLICATION DATES: 2/28/2012 - 5/1//2012 - 10/22/2013
PAGES: 487 - 525 - 526

SUMMARY (From Divergent.wikia.com): The Divergent Trilogy is a series of three young-adult dystopian/science-fiction books by Veronica Roth and published by Katherine Tegen Books. It is set in the future of a dystopian Chicago. The society is composed of five factions, where members of each faction dedicate themselves to the cultivation of a particular virtue.

My Thoughts on Divergent: I absolutely fell in love with this book. I loved every minute of it. The last third of the book was so amazing and intense. I couldn't stop reading and I was biting my nails the whole time. I really enjoyed the progression of the romance between the two main characters (Tris and Four). So many books have "insta-love," but I feel like in this book, their relationship is natural and develops over time.
My Thoughts on Insurgent: This book picks up right where Divergent left off, which I really liked as I marathoned the whole series back to back. I really enjoyed this book too, but just a smidge less than the first one. My biggest gripe about this book is the interaction between Tris and Four. I feel like neither one trusted the other, and they were both asking the other to do things they were unwilling to do themselves. The plot of the book was excellent. It was extremely exciting and action packed.
My Thoughts on Allegiant: This was my least favorite of the trilogy. I was a little reluctant to start reading this one as I heard there was an event that happens and I know many people were extremely upset by that. After reading the third book, I now know what the event was, and I understand why people were upset, but I didn't really mind what happened at all and I feel like it makes sense with the story. I didn't like this book because I felt like it was very boring. There wasn't a lot of action in this book compared to the other books and I just feel like it was very bland, especially after having just read the first two books which were nothing but action.

OVERALL RATING FOR THIS TRILOGY:

I haven't seen the movie yet, and I probably won't be seeing it until it comes out on DVD and I can watch it at home, but I am excited to see it and compare it to the first book.

Let me know your thoughts on this series, I'd love to hear them!

Wednesday, April 9, 2014

Wonder Review

Wonder

TITLE: Wonder
AUTHOR: R.J. Palacio
PUBLISHER: Knopf
PUBLICATION DATE: 2/14/2012
PAGES: 315
MY RATING:


INSIDE COVER SUMMARY: August (Auggie) Pullman was born with a facial deformity that prevented him from going to a mainstream school--until now. He's about to enter fifth grade at Beecher Prep, and if you've ever been the new kid, then you know how hard that can be. The thing is Auggie's just an ordinary kid, with and extraordinary face. But can he convince his new classmates that he's just like them, despite appearances?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: This book just makes me happy. Auggie had to overcome so much and he's so strong because of it. This books shows that people can overcome aything. And the face that this is such a young child makes it both heartbreaking and inspiring. This would be a great book to read with a child to help open up a discussion with them about getting to know someone without judging them based on their outward appearance.

CHARACTERS: Auggie is blessed with a wonderful family that support him through everything. And Auggie himself is so sweet. I like the character of Jack quite a bit. He goes through a ton of character development throughout this book.

COVER: I like the cover a lot. The blue is such a gorgeous color! I also really like the cover underneath the dust jacket.


Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose


I was invited to be a part of the street team for a captivating diary turned novel called Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose. You will be seeing posts from me all month long about this book.

Today, I want to showcase the book and give a summary, as well as share the book trailer with you guys!

Dear Nobody: The True Diary of Mary Rose

The following summary was taken from Goodreads.com:

Go Ask Alice was a hoax. But Dear Nobody is a true teen diary so raw and so edgy its authenticity rings off every page.

"I am a freak."

The words and drawings of Mary Rose present a gritty, powerful, no-holds-barred true experience of a teen girl so desperate to be loved, so eager to fit in that she'll go to extremes that could cost her her life.

This is not a story about addiction. Or sexual promiscuity. Or cystic fibrosis. It's the story of a young woman with a powerful will to live, who more than anything wants to be heard...and loved.

This compelling, emotional account ensures her voice will not be forgotten.




Make sure to check back next week when I'll be posting more about this book!

Friday, March 28, 2014

Half-Bad Review


TITLE: Half Bad
AUTHOR: Sally Green
PUBLISHER: Viking Juvenile
PUBLICATION DATE: 3/4/2014
PAGES: 416
MY RATING: 


BACK COVER SUMMARY: Seventeen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled like a dog, trained to kill. In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world's most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus. Nathan's only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers--before it's too late. But how can Nathan find his father when his every action is tracked, when there is no one safe to trust, not even family, not even the girl he loves.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: First off, there's a table of contents in this book. I can't even remember the last time I read a fiction book with a table of contents (random, I know, but it caught my attention). I really liked this book. It does move a little slowly, but I feel like that's okay. This book is a lot of back story and world building, and I think that will make the sequel really great because all of that will be done and we will be able to dive into the meat of the story. 

CHARACTERS: For some reason I really like Celia. She is the witch who keeps Nathan locked up in the cage, but for some reason I feel like she is doing her best to help Nathan with the circumstances she has been given.

COVER: The cover of this book is amazing. I didn't realize that the blood on the cover is actually in the shape of a face until I saw someone on Youtube point it out, but that made me love it even more. 

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review.