Tuesday, June 7, 2016

Review: The Merciless

The MercilessTITLE: The Merciless
AUTHOR: Danielle Vega
PUBLISHER: Razorbill
PUBLICATION DATE: June 12, 2014
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 279
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING:

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she's here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn't have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn't realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn--but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can't go against the other girls...unless she wants to be next...

OVERALL IMPRESSION: So, this is what I wrote right after I finished reading the book: I don't know what to say about this book. I want to say that I didn't like it, but I can't give it a bad rating because it affected me so much. It was creepy, scary, gross and disturbing. I am regretting reading it so close to bedtime. Good job Danielle, you set out to write a scary book and you accomplished your goal.

After having some time to digest my thoughts, I still pretty much feel the same way. I absolutely hate scary movies. I will not watch them. One of my least favorite things is when I go to the movies and a preview for a scary movie comes on. I have to plug my ears and look at the floor, I can't handle it. But when it comes to reading, I love to read scary books. I had heard this was a scary book, but I thought, it's YA so how scary can it really be? Yep, it was terrifying.

The book actually took me some time to get into. I would say it didn't really start affecting me until around page 90. That's when it took off and got crazy. And it just got more and more intense as it went on. If you are looking for a book to creep you out, definitely pick this one up.

CHARACTERS: I feel like the characters weren't developed fully. I cared what was happening to them and what they were doing, but at the same time, I didn't really feel connected to them. I think it was more of the shock factor of the events in the story that made me care what happened, not that I actually cared about the characters themselves.

COVER: This cover is amazing. There's no dust jacket on the book, which is pretty unique. And the hot pink color gives off the opposite vibe of the story. I love it.

Monday, June 6, 2016

Review: Still Alice

Still AliceTITLE: Still Alice
AUTHOR: Lisa Genova
PUBLISHER: Simon & Schuster
PUBLICATION DATE: July 1, 2012
FORMAT: Paperback (UK edition)
PAGES: 351
SOURCE: Won a giveaway (Can't remember from who)

















MY RATING: 





SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): When Alice finds herself in the rapidly downward spiral of Alzheimer's disease she is just fifty years old. A university professor, wife, and mother of three, she still has books to write, places to see, grandchildren to meet. But when she can't remember how to maker her famous Christmas pudding, when she gets lost in her own back yard, when she fails to recognize her actress daughter after a superb performance, she comes up with a plan. But can she see it through? Should she see it through?

Losing her yesterdays, living for each day, her short-term memory is hanging on by a couple of frayed threads.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I had seen that this book was being made into a movie starring Julianne Moore and I really wanted to watch it, but I knew I wanted to read the book first. So I finally took the plunge and read the book. I actually flew through the book. It was great.

The whole topic of the story is sad, but it didn't have a gut wrenching, heartbreaking element that I was expecting. It's certainly not a happy story, but everyone is dealing with it and learning to cope with the situation the best way they can.

CHARACTERS: All of the characters were great. I loved the main character, Alice. It was really interesting to see from her point of view what was going on her head as she was dealing with her disease.

Alice's family members were all great as well. They had their disagreements with the actions they wanted to take with Alice, but I could tell that they all cared about her and were trying to do the best that they could.

COVER: I love the cover of the edition I read. It's simple and cute.

Thursday, June 2, 2016

Wrap Up/Book Haul: May 2016

Physical Books Read:

Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your AssThree Names of MeGabi, a Girl in PiecesUnder the Ramadan MoonSunrise Over FallujahLolaThe Secret Life of SquirrelsI Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever AfterThe MercilessYou Look Different in Real LifeAll the Way to America: The Story of a Big Italian Family and a Little ShovelDisney's Alice in Wonderland Graphic NovelEmmanuel's Dream: The True Story of Emmanuel Ofosu YeboahYou Can Be a FriendWonderBest Friend on WheelsCan I Play Too? (Elephant & Piggie, #12)Curious George Joins the TeamSusan LaughsKeep Your Ear on the BallTibby Tried ItMy Three Best Friends and Me, Zulay

May Book Haul:


I was sent this one from the publisher. I don't know much about it, but I think it has something to do with a boarding school, which I love.


These two I picked up at the dollar store. I've been finding so many good books there lately.



I ordered some books from the Book Outlet Mother's Day Sale. These were funded by my boyfriend who treated me after making it through my first semester of Grad school.


I also got my Owl Crate for the month. The theme was Steampunk. I can't wait to read this month's books - a steampunk retelling of Peter Pan - sounds awesome

Friday, April 29, 2016

Wrap Up/Book Haul: April 2016

Physical Books Read:
Take What You Can CarryMe Before You (Me Before You, #1)Everything, EverythingSlated (Slated, #1)Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, #4)

E-Books Read:
This Is Where It Ends

Audio Books Read:
Bulletproof


April Book Haul

I went to the store to get some milk, and I somehow ended up buying this as well:

And then, I found this one on one of my Dollar Tree trips and couldn't leave it behind:

My boss went to one of the book conferences and brought back a stack of books. These are the ones that I chose to take home with me:

I also received my pre-order for this graphic novel. I've already started reading it and I love it so much!
I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After

I also received my Owl Crate for the Month. This month's theme was dystopia.

And lastly, I had to order my books for my summer class. I'm going to be taking diverse children's literature so I'm really excited to read all of these books, but not excited that I only have 3 weeks to do so.









Friday, April 15, 2016

Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, EverythingTITLE: Everything, Everything
AUTHOR: Nicola Yoon
PUBLISHER: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
PUBLICATION DATE: 9/1/2015
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 320
SOURCE: Bought





















MY RATING: 


INSIDE COVER SUMMARY: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean, and wearing all black--black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: Oh, this book. I'm not really sure where to begin with it. It's been a very long time since I've given a book a 5 star rating. I only reserve those for my absolute favorites, and Everything, Everything has made it into that group. I had been wanting to read this one since I first heard about it. The only thing that I knew about it was that it was about a girl who was, essentially, allergic to the world and it had gotten some great reviews. I love books where people are shut off from the world or from other types of communities that would be considered "normal" so I knew I had to read this.

To play off the title of the book, this book was everything. I loved it so much.. I loved the story line and how the romance between the two main characters developed. And then, there was the twist. I wasn't expecting it and was pretty shocked. I also loved the resolution at the end of the book and the sketched pictures that were thrown in every once in a while were nice too.

CHARACTERS: I loved the interaction between pretty much all of the characters. I thought that Olly and Madeline has a really sweet, cute relationship. The relationship between Madeline and her mom was nice as well, I loved how close they were. And the relationship between Madeline and her nurse, Carla was really nice as well.

COVER: The cover is really pretty. I love all of the colors that pop on the white background.