Friday, April 29, 2016

Wrap Up/Book Haul: April 2016

Physical Books Read:
Take What You Can CarryMe Before You (Me Before You, #1)Everything, EverythingSlated (Slated, #1)Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, #4)

E-Books Read:
This Is Where It Ends

Audio Books Read:
Bulletproof


April Book Haul

I went to the store to get some milk, and I somehow ended up buying this as well:

And then, I found this one on one of my Dollar Tree trips and couldn't leave it behind:

My boss went to one of the book conferences and brought back a stack of books. These are the ones that I chose to take home with me:

I also received my pre-order for this graphic novel. I've already started reading it and I love it so much!
I Hate Fairyland, Vol. 1: Madly Ever After

I also received my Owl Crate for the Month. This month's theme was dystopia.

And lastly, I had to order my books for my summer class. I'm going to be taking diverse children's literature so I'm really excited to read all of these books, but not excited that I only have 3 weeks to do so.









Friday, April 15, 2016

Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Everything, EverythingTITLE: Everything, Everything
AUTHOR: Nicola Yoon
PUBLISHER: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
PUBLICATION DATE: 9/1/2015
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 320
SOURCE: Bought





















MY RATING: 


INSIDE COVER SUMMARY: My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I'm allergic to the world. I don't leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean, and wearing all black--black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can't predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It's almost certainly going to be a disaster.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: Oh, this book. I'm not really sure where to begin with it. It's been a very long time since I've given a book a 5 star rating. I only reserve those for my absolute favorites, and Everything, Everything has made it into that group. I had been wanting to read this one since I first heard about it. The only thing that I knew about it was that it was about a girl who was, essentially, allergic to the world and it had gotten some great reviews. I love books where people are shut off from the world or from other types of communities that would be considered "normal" so I knew I had to read this.

To play off the title of the book, this book was everything. I loved it so much.. I loved the story line and how the romance between the two main characters developed. And then, there was the twist. I wasn't expecting it and was pretty shocked. I also loved the resolution at the end of the book and the sketched pictures that were thrown in every once in a while were nice too.

CHARACTERS: I loved the interaction between pretty much all of the characters. I thought that Olly and Madeline has a really sweet, cute relationship. The relationship between Madeline and her mom was nice as well, I loved how close they were. And the relationship between Madeline and her nurse, Carla was really nice as well.

COVER: The cover is really pretty. I love all of the colors that pop on the white background.

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Review: Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology (Audio)

27208741TITLE: Trouble Maker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology
AUTHOR: Leah Remini
NARRATOR: Leah Remini
PUBLISHER: Random House Audio
FORMAT: Audio Book
LENGTH: 7 hrs 12 mins
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING: 

SUMMARY (From Goodreads): Leah Remini has never been the type to hold her tongue. That willingness to speak her mind, stand her ground, and rattle the occasional cage has enabled this tough-talking girl from Brooklyn to forge an enduring and successful career in Hollywood. But being a troublemaker has come at a cost.

That was never more evident than in 2013, when Remini loudly and publicly broke with the Church of Scientology. Now, in this frank, funny, poignant memoir, the former King of Queens star opens up about that experience for the first time, revealing the in-depth details of her painful split with the church and its controversial practices.

MY THOUGHTS: Before I picked up this book, I only knew of Leah Remini from her show King of Queens. I didn't even know that she had previously been a Scientologist, but I love listening to autobiographies especially when they are on social culture. I think Leah did a great job at the narration of her book - I always enjoy biographies more when they are narrated by the author themselves because they are able to emphasize parts they feel are important. Although, since I know nothing about Scientology, because of her New York accent, I thought through the whole book she was saying "Ella Rach" instead of  "L. R. H."

The book itself was enjoyable. I feel like Leah described her experiences really well and she did a good job of explaining why she left the Scientology religion while still being fairly respectful. I really enjoyed listening to her and I'l have to check out her reality television show sometime soon because I think it would be fun to get a glimpse inside her life as it is now.

Friday, April 1, 2016

Wrap-Up/Book Haul: March 2016

Physical Books Read:

Rat Queens Deluxe Edition Volume 1Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)Illuminae (The Illuminae Files, #1)Cat Burglar Black

Audiobooks Read:

Really Professional Internet PersonTroublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology


MARCH BOOK HAUL

First up, is my OwlCrate. I'm really impressed with this months box. I loved everything. I haven't heard of the book, but I'm excited to give it a try.

The next books I received from the publishers.

And the last two pictures are books that I purchased. All of them came from the dollar store and cost me $1 each.



Reviews Written:

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Review: Glass Sword

Glass Sword (Red Queen, #2)TITLE: Glass Sword
SERIES: Red Queen #2
AUTHOR: Victoria Aveyard
PUBLISHER: HarperTeen
PUBLICATION DATE: 2/9/2016
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 444
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING: 

**This is book 2 in the Red Queen series. There may be spoilers ahead. Proceed at your own risk.**

INSIDE COVER BLURB: If there's one thing Mare Barrow knows, it's that she's different. Mare Barrow's blood is read--the color of common folk--but her Silver ability, the power to control lightening, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control.

The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince--the friend--who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: She is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors.

But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat.

Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

The electrifying next installment in the Red Queen series escalates the struggle between the growing rebel army and the blood-segregated world they've always known--and pits Mare against the darkness that has grown in her soul.

MY THOUGHTS: I was so excited to get my hands on a copy of this book. The first book in the series is one of my favorite books of all time and received a 5 star rating from me (which is extremely rare). The book picks up at the exact moment that the first book ends and I was obsessed right from the start. Within the first 100 pages, there were already twists and turns and I was excited to see what was going to happen next.

Then, around the halfway point of the book it started to slow down a lot. The events that were going on in the story at the time made perfect sense as to why the action kind of stopped, but I did find myself having a hard time getting into the book. I did push myself through, and the story did pick up quite a bit. The ending is super intense and left on a dramatic cliff hanger so I'm really looking forward to finding out what happens in the next book.

COVER: Another gorgeous cover for this book series. A+.

Check out my review of the first book in the series, Red Queen.
Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)