Sunday, January 31, 2016

Wrap-Up: January 2016

This year is off to an okay start. When I went back to see how many books I read, I actually read a lot more than it felt like I did, so I'm happy, but I still feel like I could have read more. I was able to read 8 books. Check them out below.

Physical Books Read:
Consequences: Opal & Origin (Lux, #3-4)This May Sound CrazyDumplin' (Dumplin', #1)Between the LinesOff the Page by Jodi Picoult

Graphic Novels Read:
Gotham City Sirens Book One

Audio Books Read:
So That Happened: My Unexpected Life in HollywoodA Corner of the Universe


January Book Haul/I'm Already Failing My 5-1 Book Challenge

So I wasn't supposed to be buying that many books this year. My goal was that I could buy 1 book for every 5 books I read that I physically own. So far this year, I've only read 2 of my own physical books, but I bought 7 books. Yep, I'm off to a great start. In my defense, all of these books were bought at the dollar store so they were only $1 each and I just couldn't leave them behind.




So I'm not counting this last one because it is Alice in Wonderland and I'm slowly collecting different editions of the story because I love it so much. Here's the beautiful edition that I picked up recently.


Friday, January 1, 2016

Wrap-Up: December 2015 + Future Goals

http://www.swoonyboyspodcast.com/real-book-challenge

We made it!

In December I read 9 books. 7 of these books were "real" books making my total "real" books for the 2015 Challenge 108 books. My total books read for 2015 is 139 books!


"Real" Books:

How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill YouCircus MirandusShackledRandomGotham Academy, Vol. 1: Welcome to Gotham AcademyThis One SummerAnnabel

Audio Books:
Christmas Story: The Book That Inspired the Hilarious Classic FilmMy Life As a White Trash Zombie (White Trash Zombie, #1)

Reviews Written:


Future Goals:

My first goal is the goal that I set every year--and that is to read 100 books. This is usually a pretty easy goal for me to meet and I don't really put a lot of pressure on myself--I just read what and when I feel like.

My second goal is one that will be more difficult for me. I need to reign in my spending as well as my massive TBR pile, so what I plan on doing to help with both of these things is to buy less books. I have a goal in mind of allowing myself to buy one book for every five books that I already own. This only applies to physical books as I don't really purchase ebooks and I have already cancelled my audible subscription for the time being so I can catch up on my audio books that I already own as well.

Feel free to check out my progress here.

I hope everyone had a good 2015 and has an even better 2016. Let me know what your goals for the future are!

Friday, December 18, 2015

Review: A Madness So Discreet

A Madness So DiscreetTITLE: A Madness So Discreet
AUTHOR: Mindy McGinnis
PUBLISHER: Katherine Tegen Books
PUBLICATION DATE: 10/6/2015
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 384
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING:

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): She keeps it locked away, along with her voice, trapped deep inside a brilliant mind that cannot forget horrific family secrets. Those secrets, along with the bulge in her belly, land her in a Boston insane asylum.

When her voice returns in a burst of violence, Grace is banished to the dark cellars, where her mind is discovered by a visiting doctor who dabbles in the new study of criminal psychology. With her keen eyes and sharp memory, Grace will make the perfect assistant at crime scenes. Escaping from Boston to the safety of an ethical Ohio asylum, Grace finds friendship and hope, hints of a life she should have had. But gruesome nights bring Grace and the doctor into the circle of a killer who stalks young women. Grace, continuing to operate under the cloak of madness, must hunt a murderer while she confronts the demons in her own past.

MY THOUGHTS: I was super excited to see this book in one of my monthly subscription boxes from Owl Crate. I do admit that I was expecting to find this book extremely creepy and spooky, which it was not, but I still really enjoyed it. It took me a little bit to get used to the dialog because some of the language sounded like something you'd hear in the past, but that added to the story because this book takes place in the past.

The first part of the book did a great job at pulling me in and making me want to keep reading to find out what was going on and what was going to happen next. The middle of the book slowed down a little bit, but I still enjoyed following Grace, the main character, around trying to figure out the mysteries.

I really loved the characters in this book, especially the other girls that were in the insane asylum. They just had so much personality, and even though they were in an institution, they were still just girls being girls and having fun.

Monday, December 14, 2015

Audio Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Will Grayson, Will Grayson AudiobookTITLE: Will Grayson, Will Grayson
AUTHORS: John Green and David Levithan
NARRATORS: MacLeod Andrews and Nick Podehl
PUBLISHER: Brilliance Audio
PUBLICATION DATE: 4/6/2010
FORMAT: Audio book
LENGTH: 7 hours and 52 minutes
SOURCE: Bought
MY RATING:

SUMMARY (FROM AUDIBLE): One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two teens--both named Will Grayson--are about to cross paths. As their worlds and lives collide and intertwine, the Will Graysons find their lives going in new and unexpected directions, building toward romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history's most fabulous high school musical.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I'm having a hard time getting on board the John Green train. Everyone seems to adore his books, and out of the four that I've read the only one that I've really enjoyed was The Fault in Our Stars. I was hoping to enjoy this one, but it was my least favorite so far. It took a little bit to get going and then about two hours into the audio, my interest was peaked, but I still never got really invested in the book. I think a lot of my dislike for this one had to do with the audio though. According to Audible, there are two narrators for this book, but when I was listening I didn't even know there was a difference. I actually remember thinking that I would have enjoyed hearing two different narrators so that I could more easily tell the two Will Graysons apart, and apparently there were two narrators all along.

There was a lot of back and forth dialog that had the names of who was speaking before every line and that was, honestly, annoying to listen to the narrator say the names over and over again. Also, the singing drove me nuts. It was so over the top and obnoxious, which I guess was part of that particular character's personality, but it just got on my nerves.

All of that being said, if you're thinking about picking this one up, I would say to check out the print version rather than the audio.



Tuesday, December 1, 2015

Wrap Up: November 2015

http://www.swoonyboyspodcast.com/real-book-challenge 

In November I read a total of 10 books. Of those books, 8 were "real" books making my total "real" books read this year 101 and my total books read for the year 130.


"Real" Books:
A Madness So DiscreetTrouble Is a Friend of MineNumber the StarsOrbiting JupiterPaper or PlasticI Work at a Public Library: A Collection of Crazy Stories from the StacksDewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World

Audio Books:
The Bedwetter: Stories of Courage, Redemption, and Pee Flowers in the Attic (Dollanganger, #1)