Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: December 2016

Physical Books Read:
HeartlessThe Twelve Days of Dash and LilyThe FallThe Bad Beginning (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #1)The Reptile Room (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #2)The Wide Window (A Series of Unfortunate Events, #3)Out of My MindFantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original ScreenplayMy Sunshine AwayA Monster Calls

December Book Haul:

I won a couple of Goodreads Giveaways:



I've been hitting the jackpot at the dollar tree lately. I love when I can find amazing books there for only $1.





My December OwlCrate - Theme: Epic

Monday, December 19, 2016

Bout of Books 18 - I'm participating!

Bout of Books 18 I'm not sure how much reading I'll be able to get in that week since that's the first week that I'm starting my new job, but I have been wanting to participate in a read-a-thon for a while now and I've done this one in the past and loved it, so figured I'd give it a go again. Here's the official blurb from the Bout of Books Blog - be sure to check it out so you can sign up as well!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon is organized by Amanda Shofner and Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal. It is a week long read-a-thon that begins 12:01am Monday, January 2nd and runs through Sunday, January 8th in whatever time zone you are in. Bout of Books is low-pressure. There are challenges, giveaways, and a grand prize, but all of these are completely optional. For all Bout of Books 18 information and updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog. - From the Bout of Books team


I'll be keeping track of my progress >>here<<, so feel free to stop by and leave me some encouragement!

Friday, December 9, 2016

Wrap Up/Haul: November 2016

Physical Books Read:
Peter Pan by J.M. BarrieThe Trouble With WomenHighly Illogical BehaviorPaper Girls, Vol. 1

Audio Books Read:

None


EBooks Read:

None


November Book Haul:



Purchased/For Review:




November OwlCrate (Alice in Wonderland Theme):



Reviews Written:
Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley

Wednesday, November 23, 2016

ARC Review: Highly Illogical Behavior

Highly Illogical BehaviorTITLE: Highly Illogical Behavior
AUTHOR: John Corey Whaley
PUBLISHER: Dial Books
PUBLICATION DATE: 5/10/2016
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 256
SOURCE: Amazon Vine/Publisher
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄🦄

BACK COVER SUMMARY: Sixteen-year-old Solomon hasn't left the house in three years. Ambitious Lisa desperately wants to go to the second-best psychiatry program for college (she's realistic).

Lisa figures if she can treat Sol's condition and publish her findings he could be her ticket to a scholarship. So Lisa ingratiates herself with Sol and his parents, introduces him to her boyfriend, Clark, and tells him her secrets. Soon, Solomon begins to expand his universe with the help of his new friends. But when their facades come crashing down, their friendships threaten to collapse, as well.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I had my eye on this book ever since I first heard about it. Before this book I had never read anything by John Corey Whaley before, but I was anticipating good things because I've heard rave reviews about his work. I was not disappointed. I was hooked from page one of this book. The way the story line came to be was a little weird for me, but the way that it was written and they way the characters interacted with each other made this such an enjoyable read.

CHARACTERS: All of the characters in this book are great, but my favorite has to be Solomon's grandmother. She was hilarious and so much fun and I loved the relationship that Solomon had with her.

I also like Solomon. Even though his condition is something that I don't hear about often, I felt like he was such a real character and a real person.

COVER: The cover is great and I love it even more now after having read the story and seeing how it ties in.

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine/The Publisher for my honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced in any way.**

Monday, October 31, 2016

Wrap Up/Haul: October 2016

Physical Books Read:
FurthermoreAnd the Trees Crept InGirl on a PlaneGoing GeekThe Stonekeeper (Amulet, #1)The Stonekeeper's Curse (Amulet, #2)The Memory of ThingsThe Cloud Searchers (Amulet, #3)

Audio Books Read:
The Girl in the Red CoatWhere Am I Now?: True Stories of Girlhood and Accidental Fame

Ebooks Read:

October Book Haul:


Owlcrate:


ARCs from work:


I couldn't resist picking up this magazine:


I won this coloring book in a giveaway:


Some of the books I picked up at the library in October:


Reviews Written: