Friday, July 21, 2017

Booktubeathon 2017

I'm participating in the Booktubeathon this time around! The last day of my summer semester is on the 25th and then I have 2 weeks off, so I figured this was a perfect time for me to catch up on tons of reading! Check out the Youtube video below for more information!




I'm planning on participating in as many of the reading challenges as I can so here they are with the books I plan on reading to complete each one.

Reading Challenges:
1. Read a Book with a Person on the Cover
The Girl in Between
2. Read a Hyped Book
Eleanor & Park
3. Finish a Book in One Day
Ghachar Ghochar
4. Read About a Character That is Very Different From You
The Special Ones
5. Read A Book Completely Outdoors
The Map of Good Memories
6. Read A Book You Got Because of the Cover
A Line in the Dark
7. Read 7 Books
Once We Were Sisters: A Memoir




Let me know if you're planning on participating and what books you plan on reading!

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: June 2017

Physical Books Read:
I Believe in a Thing Called LoveA Map for Wrecked Girls


Audio Books Read:
I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up for Education and Was Shot by the Taliban


June (and part of May) Book Haul:

June Owl Crate - Make It Out Alive

Bought:




Giveaway Winnings:


For Review/From Publishers:




ARCs From Work:


Reviews Written:

Monday, June 19, 2017

Review: 10 Things I Can See From Here (ARC)

10 Things I Can See from HereTITLE: 10 Things I Can See From Here
AUTHOR: Carrie Mac
PUBLISHER: Alfred A. Knopf
PUBLICATION DATE: 2/28/2017
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 320
SOURCE: Amazon Vine/Publisher
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄 + 1/2

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): Think positive. Don't worry; be happy. Keep calm and carry on.

Maeve has heard it all before. She's been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it's not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom--the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through--is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.

Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn't seem to worry about anything. Between her dad's wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I personally deal with anxiety, so I was interested to see how they would approach that aspect of the book. The book itself is pretty morbid. My anxiety is different than Maeve's so it wasn't too difficult for me to read this book. But I feel like someone with severe anxiety would be triggered into a panic attack by reading this with as many terrible facts and situations that Maeve is constantly listing. It was really exhausting for me trying to keep up with everything that went through her head. But after all of that, I really enjoyed the ending and especially the last scene.

COVER:  I love simple covers with pretty typography, so I love this cover.

Thursday, June 1, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: May 2017

Physical Books Read:
The Dead InsideTextrovertJust a Normal TuesdayLooking for GroupSummerlostWorthyThe Best Kind of Magic (Windy City Magic, #1)Aftercare InstructionsHere We Are: Feminism for the Real World


May Book Haul


May OwlCrate - Comics


May J.K. Rowling's Wizarding World Box - The Dark Arts


That's it for my haul this month. I have acquired some new books in May, but the whole moving thing has life a little hectic. That being said, I've finally moved in and started getting things in order so next month I should be able to be more organized and share the books I've acquired. In the meantime, here's a picture of my new library mid setup. It's been quite time consuming trying to get it set up, but it's coming along.






Monday, May 8, 2017

Wrap Up: April 2017

Physical Books Read:

Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, #1)Geekerella

Audio Books Read:

Bad Feminist: Essays


April Book Haul:


I got a bunch of ARCs this month, but as I said in my last wrap-up post, I'm going to be moving, so things have been pretty crazy around here. the move in date is set for later this month, so May's Wrap-up may be a little short as well, but I'm hoping to be back to normal for June.

Reviews Written:
Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (3.5/5)