Monday, May 8, 2017

Wrap Up: April 2017

Physical Books Read:

Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables, #1)Geekerella

Audio Books Read:

Bad Feminist: Essays


April Book Haul:


I got a bunch of ARCs this month, but as I said in my last wrap-up post, I'm going to be moving, so things have been pretty crazy around here. the move in date is set for later this month, so May's Wrap-up may be a little short as well, but I'm hoping to be back to normal for June.

Reviews Written:
Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland (3.5/5)


Monday, April 24, 2017

Review: Our Chemical Hearts (ARC)

Our Chemical HeartsTITLE: Our Chemical Hearts
AUTHOR: Krystal Sutherland 
PUBLISHER: G.P. Putnam's Sons
PUBLICATION DATE: 10/4/2016
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 320
SOURCE:Amazon Vine 
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄 + 1/2

SUMMARY (FROM GOODREADS): Henry Page has never been in love. He fancies himself a hopeless romantic, but the slo-mo, heart palpitating, can't-eat-can't-sleep kind of love that he's been hoping for just hasn't been in the cards for him--at least not yet. Instead, he's been happy to focus on his grades, on getting into a semi-decent college and finally becoming editor of his school newspaper. Then Grace Town walks into his first period class on the third Tuesday of senior year and he knows everything's about to change.

Grace isn't who Henry pictured as his dream girl--she walks with a cane, wears oversized boys' clothes, and rarely seems to shower. But when Grace and Henry are both chosen to edit the school paper, he quickly finds himself falling for her. It's obvious there's something broken about Grace, but it seems to make her even more beautiful to Henry, and he wants nothing more than to help her put the pieces back together again. And yet, this isn't your average story of boy meets girl. Krystal Sutherland's brilliant debut is equal parts with and heartbreak, a potent reminder of the bittersweet bliss that is first love.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: This book had been on my radar for a while, so I was excited to jump right in. I love all of the relevant references throughout the book -- Facebook, Spotify, Mad-eye Moody, etc. I wonder if those things will change in the future or if people who read this book in the future will wonder what the author was talking about.

This story is gutwrenchingly (is that a word?) heartbreaking. I went back and forth between being so angry at Grace for the way she treats Henry and then filled with sympathy for her situation.

CHARACTERS: As I mentioned above, Grace makes me angry with the way that she treats Henry, but at the same time I just felt so much sympathy for her and what she was dealing with that I would almost forgive her, then she would do something else to make me angry at her again.

COVER: Obsessed with the cover. The color of those fish is gorgeous!

**I received an ARC of this book for my honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced in any way.

Friday, March 31, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul March 2017

Physical Books Read

Caraval (Caraval, #1)The Pants Project

Audio Books Read

The Handmaid's TaleThirteen Reasons WhyTalking as Fast as I Can: From Gilmore Girls to Gilmore Girls (and Everything in Between)

March Book Haul

I'm in the process of moving and unfortunately, I've already packed up most of my books including the new books I got this month so all I've got to show you is the book that was included in this month's Owlcrate. The theme was Sailors, Ships, and Seas.

Daughter of the Pirate King (Daughter of the Pirate King, #1)


Monday, March 6, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: February 2017

Physical Books Read:

Hey Harry, Hey MatildaCarlota Wouldn't Say BooOur Chemical Hearts13 Ways of Looking at a Fat GirlThe Last Time We Say GoodbyeThe Sun Is Also a StarMy Lady Jane

Audio Books Read:
Blubber

February Book Haul:

I won a giveaway for an amazing box of books:


I also won a Goodreads Giveaway:

I made a Book Outlet Order:


Valentine's Tradition (Book and Sandwich):

Got a ridiculous amount of freebies from work:




February Owlcrate - Run Away With The Circus:

Wednesday, February 1, 2017

Carlota Wouldn't Say Boo

Carlota Wouldn't Say BooTITLE: Carlota Wouldn't Say Boo
AUTHOR: José Carlos Andrés
ILLUSTRATOR: Emilio Urberuaga
AGE: Children
PUBLISHER: NubeOcho
PUBLICATION DATE: 6/14/2016
FORMAT: Hardcover
PAGES: 40
SOURCE: Amazon Vine/Publisher
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄+ 1/2

MY REVIEW: This was a cute book. I was drawn to it because when I was a child I was painfully shy and I would only talk to my best friend. I would whisper in her ear and she would tell everyone what I had said. This is a fun story and would make a perfect story time for any shy child. The illustrations are nice and vibrant and I think children would love following along with the story and pictures.

**I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced in any way.**