Monday, July 21, 2014

Take Me On Review

Take Me On (Pushing the Limits, #4)

TITLE: Take Me On
AUTHOR: Katie McGarry
PUBLISHER: Harlequin Teen
PUBLICATION DATE: 5/27/2014
PAGES: 544
MY RATING:


INSIDE COVER SUMMARY: Champion kickboxer Haley swore she'd never set foot in the ring again after one tragic night. But then the guy she can't stop thinking about accepts a mixed martial arts fight in her honor. Suddenly, Haley has to train West Young. All attitude, West is everything Haley promised herself she'd stay away from. Yet he won't last five seconds in the ring without her help.

West is keeping a big secret from Haley. About who he really is. But helping her--fighting for her--is a shot at redemption. Especially since it's his fault his family is falling apart. He can't change the past, but maybe he can change Haley's future.

Haley and West have agreed to keep their relationship strictly in the ring. But as an unexpected bond forms between them and attraction mocks their best intentions, they'll face their darkest fears and discover love is worth fighting for.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: Another instant hit from Katie. I don't think this woman could write a bad book if she tried. I will read anything by her. I was in love with this book before I was even halfway through it. Katie's writing just pulls you in and makes you keep flipping the pages. I will admit that I didn't like this one as much as her other books, but it was still extremely good. 

CHARACTERS: I think my reason for not liking this book as much as the others is because of the main characters, Haley and West. For some reason, I just didn't connect with them as well as I would have liked to. It might have been because the story line revolved around boxing, and I have zero interest in that, but I did really love the relationship that West and Haley shared. 

COVER: I'm not a fan of any of the covers for the Pushing The Limits books, but I do like that there is something printed directly onto the book underneath the dust jacket.

**I received a finished copy of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review.

Thursday, July 10, 2014

Panic Review

Panic

TITLE: Panic
AUTHOR: Lauren Oliver
PUBLISHER: Harper Collins
PUBLICATION DATE: 3/4/2014
PAGES: 416
MY RATING: 


BACK COVER SUMMARY: Panic began as so many things do in Carp, a poor town of twelve thousand people in the middle of nowhere: because it was summer, and there was nothing else to do.

Heather never thought she would compete in Panic, a legendary game played by graduating seniors, where the stakes are high and the payoff is even higher. She'd never thought of herself as fearless, the kind of person who would fight to stand out. But when she finds something, and someone, to fight for, she will discover that she is braver than she ever thought.

Dodge has never been afraid of Panic. His secret will fuel him, and get him all the way through the game; he's sure of it. But what he doesn't know is that he's not the only one with a secret. Everyone has something to play for.

For Heather and Dodge, the game will bring new alliances, unexpected revelations, and the possibility of her first love for each of them--and the knowledge that sometimes the very things we fear are those we need the most.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I liked the sweet note from Lauren at the beginning of the book. I'm not sure if this is in all copies since I read from an ARC, but it was nice of her to include it.

There has been a lot of hype over this book, but I just don't get it. The book was fine, but it wasn't near one of my favorites. I'm not sure what everyone was raving about. That being said, I did like the concept and I enjoyed reading it.

CHARACTERS: There were a lot of names being thrown around right from the start, so I was having some trouble figuring out who everyone was and keeping everyone straight. It got a little easier, but I did still have some difficulty throughout the book. I had some trouble connecting with the characters. I wanted to care more about them, but I just couldn't. I was more interested in the Panic games themselves than the relationships between the characters. 

COVER: I like the cover. I like the simplicity of it. I'm a fan of dark covers with a pop of something on them and this has that.

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review.

Tuesday, July 1, 2014

June Reading Update


In June, all of the books I read counted towards my 2014 "Real" Book Challenge. I managed to read 4 books in June bringing my total books read for the challenge to 42 books, and 43 books for my total year to date.

GreatThe Taking (The Taking, #1)Soul Screamers Vol. 1: My Soul to Lose • My Soul to Take • My Soul to Save

Thursday, June 26, 2014

Bookish Mad Libs #3 - Peter Pan


I participate in a website called "Swap-Bot". Basically, you can sign up to swap things with other people - letters, stickers, handmade items, anything you can think of, you can swap. There are also groups on swap-bot that you can join with themes. These groups have officers in them who host swaps based on the theme of the group. 

One of the groups I am in, is called Carpe Librum and is all about books and bookish things. A swapper by the name of smadronia (one of the founder of Carpe Librum) came up with the idea to host a swap for a book themed mad-libs. I love the idea and I wanted to create a book-related mad libs meme. So if you want to play along, feel free to pick out your words and then make a post on your blog, or in the comments if you prefer, with what you came up with.

This week's theme is Cinderella.
Here is the list of words.

1. A Place
2. Verb
3. Noun
4. Verb
5. Person in Room (Female)
6. Verb ending in "ING"
7. Part of Body
8. Noun
9. Verb
10. Adverb
11. Noun
12. Noun
13. Silly Word
14. Noun
15. Adjective
16. Adverb
17. Part of Body
18. Verb

Here is the Mad-lib. Replace each number with your word for that number:

Peter Pan by J M Barrie
PEter Pan flew into (the) _____1_____ to find his shadow. When he found it, Peter tried to _____2_____ it back on with a bar of _____3_____! When that didn't work, he began to _____4_____, waking up _____5_____.
"Boy," she said, "Why are you _____6_____?"
Peter stood up and bowed at the _____7_____. "Hello, I'm Peter Pan. I can't get my _____8_____to stick on," he said.
"You can't _____9_____ it on with soap," Wendy said _____10_____. "You need to sew it on with needle and _____11_____. Here, let me."
Quick as a/an _____12_____, she sewed the shadow back on.
Peter let out a loud "_____13_____!" and danced around the room, happy as a/an _____14_____. "Oh, I am _____15_____!" he crowed.
"Peter, may I give you a kiss?" Wendy asked him, smiling _____16_____.
Peter held out his _____17_____, waiting for her to hand it to him.
"Surely you know what a/an _____18_____ is?" she said.
"I shall know once you give it to me," Peter replied.

Here's what I came up with:
Peter Pan by J M Barrie
PEter Pan flew into (the) HOME to find his shadow. When he found it, Peter tried to RUN it back on with a bar of SHOE! When that didn't work, he began to PRANCE, waking up ZOEY.
"Boy," she said, "Why are you GALLOPING?"
Peter stood up and bowed at the PINKY. "Hello, I'm Peter Pan. I can't get my FORESTto stick on," he said.
"You can't SWIM it on with soap," Wendy said SURPRISINGLY. "You need to sew it on with needle and LAMPSHADE. Here, let me."
Quick as a/an PIANO, she sewed the shadow back on.
Peter let out a loud "POOF!" and danced around the room, happy as a/an TELEPHONE. "Oh, I am GLITTERY!" he crowed.
"Peter, may I give you a kiss?" Wendy asked him, smiling TENDERLY.
Peter held out his WRIST, waiting for her to hand it to him.
"Surely you know what a/an TUMBLE is?" she said.
"I shall know once you give it to me," Peter replied.

Sunday, June 22, 2014

The Taking Review

The Taking (The Taking, #1)

TITLE: The Taking
AUTHOR: Kimberly Derting
PUBLISHER: Harper Teen
PUBLICATION DATE: 4/29/2014
PAGES: 368
MY RATING:


BACK COVER SUMMARY: When sixteen-year-old Kyra Agnew wakes up behind a dumpster at the Gas 'n' Sip, she has no memory of how she got there. With a terrible headache and a major case of deja vu, she heads home only to discover that five years have passed...yet she hasn't aged a day.

Everything else about Kyra's old life is different. Her parents are divorced, her boyfriend is in college and dating her best friend, and her dad has changed from an uptight neat-freak to a drunken conspiracy theorist who blames her disappearance on little green men. Confused and lost, she turns to Tyler, her boyfriend's annoying kid brother, who is now seventeen and who she has a sudden undeniable attraction to. As Tyler and Kyra retrace her steps from the fateful night of her disappearance, they discover there are others life her who have been taken...and returned.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I went into this book not knowing anything about it. I didn't read the summary because I wanted to be surprised, but I had heard that it might have something to do with aliens, so I was intrigued. This book was really good and had me reading whenever I had free time to see what was going on and what was going to happen. The story moves along very nicely and closer to the end we start to find out more about what it actually going on. 

The ending left everything completely open for the sequel and I cannot wait to see what comes next. I'm left with some questions and I am ready to find out where Kimberly takes the story.

CHARACTERS: Kyra and Tyler are great together. They feel so natural and I really like that. I'm excited to learn more about the characters as the series continues, specifically Kyra's dad and I'd also like to get to know Kyra's little brother more. 

COVER: The cover is awesome. It ties in with the book perfectly. I love the fireflies that make up the title.

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review.