Tuesday, October 31, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul October 2017

Physical Books Read:
The Glass CastleThere's Someone Inside Your House

Audio Books Read:
The Girl with All the Gifts


October Book Haul

October OwlCrate

New Books This Month:
The InitiationThe Girl from VeniceOnly ChildThe Night ChildWishThe Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu: And Their Race to Save the World’s Most Precious ManuscriptsThe Perfect NannyA Guide for Murdered ChildrenA Lady's Guide to Selling OutWinter SistersTurtles All the Way DownA Beautiful Young WomanThe Ghost Notebooks

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Wrap Up/Haul: September 2017

Physical Books Read
Namesake, Volume 1Mirror, Mirror on the Wall: The Diary of Bess Brennan (Dear America)Little Monsters

September Book Haul


Owlcrate 

J.K. Rowling's Wizarding Box

ARCs received
Blood SistersForce of Nature (Aaron Falk, #2)Love, Hate & Other FiltersThe Truth Beneath the LiesCopycatTales of Two Americas: Stories of Inequality in a Divided Nation"You're in the Wrong Bathroom!": And 20 Other Myths and Misconceptions about Transgender and Gender-Nonconforming PeopleCrazy Is My Superpower:  How I Triumphed by Breaking Bones, Breaking Hearts, and Breaking the RulesWonder Woman Psychology: Lassoing the TruthMister Tender's GirlNasty Women: Feminism, Resistance, and Revolution in Trump's America

Monday, September 4, 2017

Wrap Up/ Haul: August 2017

Physical Books Read
Because You Love to Hate Me: 13 Tales of VillainyThe Doll People (Doll People, #1)

Audio Books Read
A Dog's Purpose (A Dog's Purpose, #1)Daughter of Smoke & Bone (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #1)


August Book Haul


August Owlcrate - Something Wicked This Way Comes


The Power of Half: One Family's Decision to Stop Taking and Start Giving BackGirls Made of Snow and GlassForever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3)Skeleton TreeMy Brigadista YearMoonhead and the Music MachineCinemaps: An Atlas of 35 Great Movies
Sometimes I Lie


Reviews Written:
But Then I Came Back (3/5 Stars)

Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Review: But Then I Came Back (ARC)

But Then I Came BackTITLE: But Then I Came Back
AUTHOR: Estelle Laure
PUBLISHER: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books For Young Readers
PUBLICATION DATE: 4/4/2017
FORMAT: ARC
PAGES: 320
SOURCE: Amazon Vine/Publisher
MY RATING: 🦄🦄🦄

SUMMARY (FROM BACK COVER): From the author of This Raging Light comes the story of Eden Jones, a seventeen-year-old girl who feels lost after surviving a near-fatal accident. Unable to connect with her family and friends, Eden forms an unlikely relationship with Joe, a boy who comes to the hospital to visit Jasmine, a friend who may soon be gone forever. Eden is the only person who can get through to Jasmine, but is Eden brave enough to face a world that's bigger and more magical than she ever would have allowed?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: This book was way more contemporary than I was expecting. I thought it was going to have more supernatural elements. The premise of this book actually reminded me a lot of the Freeform TV show Beyond, but they are nothing alike at all. I think I would have enjoyed this book more if it had been marketed as a contemporary love story than as a story revolving around bringing a girl back from a coma, as we rarely saw anything from that aspect of the story.

CHARACTERS: I'm not entirely sure how I feel about the characters. They all seemed great and it seemed like they had wonderful relationships with each other, but I feel like I didn't get to observe it enough.

COVER:
The cover is very pretty and is what initially drew me into finding out more about this book.

**I received an ARC of this book from Amazon Vine for my honest review. All opinions are my own and have not been influenced in any way.


Wrap Up/Haul: July 2017

Physical Books Read:
Crazy HouseThe UnlikeliesA Line in the DarkGhachar GhocharThe Special OnesJuniper Lemon's Happiness Index

Audio Books Read:
Hidden Figures: The Untold Story of the African American Women Who Helped Win the Space Race

July Book Haul

July Owl Crate - Wanderlust

July J.K. Rowling's Wizarding Box


ARCs Received:
Sometimes I LieI'm Fine...and Other LiesIndecentUnqualifiedEverything Here is BeautifulBonfireThe VisitorsFriend RequestThe Little Exile