Monday, October 29, 2012

2012 Bride-To-Be Vox Box

I was lucky to be chosen to receive the Bride-To-Be Vox Box from Influenster to try out some products! Here's what it contained:


 Dream Water: Dream Water is a natural, 0 calorie, 2.5 oz sleep and relaxation shot featuring key ingredients that work together to help you relax, fall asleep naturally, and wake up refreshed. A match made in heaven for brides in need of relaxation and beauty sleep leading up to the Big Day. Also makes the perfect bridesmaid gift or party favor for wedding attendees and out-of-town guests.
 BC Repair Rescue Shampoo: A gentle formulation to cleanse and nurture pre-lightened, over-processed and fragile hair. Improves strength and elasticity. For strong and flexible hair full of healthy shine.

BC Repair Rescue Conditioner:  Detangles damaged hair. Improves strength and elasticity. For strong, smooth and manageable hair full of shine.

BC Repair Rescue Sealed Ends: This is the ideal product to finish a perfect care service. It is the extra infusion to prevent split ends and to leave them looking healthy and shiny.
Kiss everEZlashes: You'll never waste another set of eyelashes again. Kiss everEZlashes with patent pending Application Strings allow for perfect lash application every time. Kiss lashes come in a variety of styles that are perfect for everyday wear, to formal evening events. An absolute must-have for bridesmaids and of course - the bride!

Rescue Gum: You've got work deadlines, social obligations...and now a wedding to plan! Stay a step ahead with RESCUE Gum Remedy. Developed by a doctor more than 75 years ago, RESCUE Remedy helps millions of women around the world stress less, stay calm and in control. Chew this homeopathic gum and feel your stress and anxiety melt away!

**All descriptions came from Influenster.

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

The Emerald Talisman Book Blast With Giveaway

The Emerald Talisman Audio Book by Brenda Pandos  
Read by Mary Morgan

You can run from your destiny, but you can't hide.

If for no other reason than to help endure the hormonal rush of high school, sixteen-year-old Julia Parker would trade her ability to feel her fellow students' emotions in a heartbeat, especially half the boys in class.

When the beguiling Nicholas uses his superhuman strength to rescue Julia from the edge of a cliff before she's devoured by a bloodthirsty stalker, Julia is suddenly thrust into an underground world where people and animals are often one and the same. Fellow high school students disappear and only Julia and Nicholas know the truth. While Nicholas, a vampire hunter, is out stopping the ever-growing coven, an old friend entices Julia to join him on the dark side and a psychic tells Julia she alone is the key to stopping the madness, problem is it'll require Nicholas' life. 

Author Brenda Pandos:  

Brenda Pandos lives in California with her husband and two boys. She attempts to balance her busy life filled with writing, being a mother and wife, and spending time with friends and family. Working formerly as an I.T. Administrator, she never believed her imagination would be put to good use. After her son was diagnosed with an autism spectrum disorder her life completely changed. Writing paranormal romance became something she could do at home while tending to the new needs of her family, household, and herself.

Three years later, Brenda now has five books published, The Talisman Trilogy: The Emerald Talisman, The Sapphire Talisman, and The Onyx Talisman, and Mer Tales: Everblue and Evergreen. She is currently working on the third book of Mer Tales, Everlost, coming February 2013.

Website * Blog * Goodreads * Twitter * Facebook 

Audio Book Tour 

Readers are invited to participate in The Emerald Talisman blog tour from 10/26-11/23 hosted by Confessions of a Bookaholic. There will be giveaways, interviews and a scavenger hunt! 


Book Blast Giveaway Details:
$100 Amazon Gift Card or $100 PayPal Cash from Author Brenda Pandos
Ends 10/30/12
*You need not enter your twitter name for each entry.  Simply enter it when you follow Brenda and leave the others blank.
Open to anyone who can legally enter, receive and use an Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent's permission. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.

Saturday, October 13, 2012

Dark Nebula Cover Reveal

Isn't is pretty!

Dark Nebula is the sequal to the book Rae of Hope, which I loved! Check out my review of Rae of Hope here.

BOOK DESCRIPTION: Nothing is as it seems anymore.

Leary from the horrifying incident at the end of her first year at Guilder Boarding School, Rae Kerrigan is determined to learn more about her new tattoo. Her expectations are high, and easy senior year and a happy reunion with Devon -- the boy she's not supposed to date. All hopes of happiness fade into shattered dreams the moment she steps back on campus.

Lies and secrets are everywhere, and a betrayal cuts Rae deeply. Among her conflicts and enemies, it appears as if her father is reaching out from beyond the grave to ruin her life. With no one to trush, Rae doesn't know where or who to turn to for help.

Has her destiny been written? Or will she become the one thing she hates the most - her father's prodigy.

AUTHOR BIOGRAPHY: Wanita May grew up in the fruit belt of Ontario - St.Catharines. With a crazy-happy childhood, she has always had a vivid imagination and way too much energy.

The youngest of six -- four older brothers, and a sister -- taught her at a young age to be competitive in all aspects of life.

At sixteen, she began competing in athletics (track and field) and before she turned seventeen, she was representing Canada in high jump. She continued to compete, breaking Canada's JR High Jump record (1.92m - 6' 3 1/2" for those metric-ly challenged). She attented University of Toronto, and Kansas State University - winning CIAU's and becoming All-American 6x - NCAA Indoors Runner Up + more.

But you're not interested in her athletic career - unless of course you're curious to know she stands 1.70m (5'7") and has jumped 20cm over her head on more than one occasion. She's represented Canada at the World Championships, World Jrs., won Francophone Games, and loved every minute of every competition. From the grueling workouts, the crazy weights she lifted on her back, the days she thought her lungs were going to spit out of her mouth for lack of oxygen, the traveling around the world and the opportunity to read - her favorite past time.

Life continued with her husband (a distance runner from Liverpool, UK, who she met at KSU) and then their first, then second and finally third child. Their house became full of more imagination and stories. Wanita and her husband run an online business, dealing in antiques and collectables - particularly jewelry and porcelain

After her father passed away in 2009, from a six-year battle with cancer (which she still believes he won the fight against), she began to write again. A passion she'd loved for years, but realized life was too short to keep putting it off.

Her first book, Rae of Hope - from the Chronicles of Kerrigan, published by Mitchell Morris Publishing debuted Oct 2011. Dark Nebula is available December 15th, 2012.

She is represented by Dawn Dowdle of Blue Ridge Literary Agency. Wanita is a writer of Young Adult, Fantasy Fiction and where ever else her little muses take her.

Twitter: @wanitajump
Book Trailers:

If you haven't read the first in the series, or you want to add it to your collection it will be available for free download from Amazon on October 15. Click below to get your copy!

Thursday, October 11, 2012

Author Interview with Linda Kage + A Giveaway

The Color of Grace Tour Button

Thanks for joining me and the other fabulous bloggers on The Color of Grace Book Blog Tour! Be sure to read all the way to the bottom of the post for your chance to win a paperback copy of the book and some awesome arm warmers.

Linda Kage is the Author of the Contemporary YA Romance / YA Chick-Lit book The Color of Grace.

The Color of Grace Tour Button
1.       What is your favorite color?
I’m definitely a purple girl!
2.       Where did you get the inspiration to write your novel?
There were two cases of accusations made against men for taking advantage of their new stepdaughters in my neighborhood. These two cases happened a lot closer to home than I felt comfortable with. And since both instances occurred within a few months of each other, it shocked and horrified me to learn how often such things happened. Made me wonder what a girl was supposed to do when her new dad made an advance on her. Then more what-ifs cropped up until Grace’s story formed and The Color of Grace was born. Since I write YA and romance, I kept twisting the tale until it fit my genre.
3.       Which of your characters is your favorite and why?
I love Ryder. He swallows his pride and puts himself out there in a vulnerable position, letting Grace know he likes her despite the fact she already turned him down. I just adore a guy who’s persistent without being stalker creepy!
4.       When you are not writing what else do you like to do?
I have a day job in a university library. So I’m around books all day.  When I get off work, I pick up my two-year old daughter and play Mommy until the next day, when it’s time to go back to work and do it all over again! I barely get to see my husband because he works evening shift, so those rare occasions when we get together are pretty special. We tried raising a tadpole this summer, but sadly, he  (or maybe she) didn’t make it. So we’re thinking maybe a fish will be our next adventure in the wonderful world of pet owning!  And that’s pretty much what I do outside writing!
5.       What is your favorite genre to read?
Romance is my favorite.  I have to—HAVE TO—have a happily ever after.  But after it being a romance story, it can be adult, YA, historical, futuristic, contemporary, paranormal, suspenseful, whatever!  It doesn’t matter to me!  I love all kinds of romance.


Linda is sponsoring a $30 Amazon gift card giveaway for one reader who comments on any post during the blog tour. To maximize your chances, comment on as many of the posts as you can!
She has also generously offered to sponsor a giveaway on my blog for a paperback copy of her novel, The Color of Grace, as well as a super cute pair of black and red striped arm warmers. Fill out the rafflecopter below for your chance to win!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to check out the other stops on the hop!

Aug 10th (Friday):
Books For Company - Guest Post & Giveaway

Sept 3rd (Monday):
I Am a Reader, Not a Writer - Interview & Giveaway


October 1, 2012 (Monday)

Good Choice Reading - Guest Post
Ellz Readz - Interview
A Tasty Read - Review & Giveaway
Diane Estrella - Guest Post & Giveaway

October 2, 2012 (Tuesday)

The YA Cafe - Giveaway
Fictitious Musings - Guest Post
Chocolate Coated Reviews - Review

October 3, 2012 (Wednesday)

Me, My Shelf, and I - Interview & Giveaway
Bookaholics - Character Interview

October 4, 2012 (Thursday)

Courtney's Book Nook - Surprise Post
Totally Bookalicious - Guest Post & Giveaway
Tumbling in Books - Review & Giveaway
Fictonal Distraction - Interview

October 5, 2012 (Friday
Lauren's Crammed Bookshelf - Interview
Reader's Edyn - Guest Post & Giveaway
BookSpark - Interview

October 6, 2012 (Saturday)

Mom Loves 2 Read - Giveaway

October 7, 2012 (Sunday)

Kissed by Ink - Guest Post

October 8, 2012 (Monday)

I Heart YA Books - Review & Giveaway
Readergirl - Review & Giveaway
BookSpark Again! - Review & Giveaway

October 9, 2012 (Tuesday)

One A Day Y.A. - Guest Post & Giveaway
Book Labyrinth - Guest Post & Giveaway
Hott Books - Interview

October 10, 2012 (Wednesday)

Reading Angel - Guest Post & Giveaway
Lovey Dovey Books - Guest Post & Review

October 11, 2012 (Thursday)

Stuck in Books - Review
Bengal Reads - Guest Post
Squiggles Reviews - Interview & Giveaway

October 12, 2012 (Friday)

Ivy B Misbehavin' - Interview
Books and Beyond - Guest Post & Giveaway
The Romance Review - Giveaway
Romancing the Book - Puzzle & Giveaway

Saturday, October 6, 2012

Mothership Review

 TITLE: Mothership (The Ever-Expanding Universe #1)
AUTHORS: Martin Leicht and Isla Neal
PUBLISHER: Simon and Schuster
PAGES: 308

INSIDE COVER BLURB: Things look grim when Elvie Nara finds herself knocked up right before her PSAT. To make matters worse, Cole Archer; the too-hot-to-be-human dreamboat co-responsible for her condition, disappears off the face of the planet after hearing the news, and Elvie's father ships her off to the Hanover School for Expecting Teen Mothers -- a seriously kitschy cruise liner stuffed with pregnant girls, and circling the planet in low Earth orbit.

But the cherry on this drama sundae? Three weeks before Elvie's due date, the ship is attacked. By dudes with ray guns. And one of those dudes just happens to be...Cole Archer. Talk about awkward.

Cole tells Elvie that the Hanover teachers are aliens (um, okay) and that she has to evacuate the ship to save her unborn baby from their nefarious plans. But, just how did Cole -- who doesn't know a driveshaft from a windshield wiper -- end up as a badass alien-fighting commando?

OVERALL IMPRESSION: The book didn't pull me in as much as I wanted it to. I really like the idea of the story, as there aren't many YA books about aliens out on the market, but I had a hard time connecting with the plot and the characters. There is a little bit of humor added throughout the book which lightens the mood a little bit and the chapter titles are pretty entertaining.

The ending -- AHH! I immedieatly checked online to see if/when the sequel is coming out. Good news -- there is a sequal, but no word that I could find on when it is coming out. I was leaning towards a 2.5/5 stars for this book, but the ending made me bump it up to 3 stars. I can't wait to see where the authors are going to go with the story.

CHARACTERS: I didn't really feel a connection with any of the characters in the book. I feel like I didn't get to learn enough about them. I guess my favorite would be Ducky. He is Elvie's (the main character) best friend. He truely seems to care about Elvie and wants to protect her. Cole is the father of Elvie's baby. I didn't see the appeal that he had over Elvie. I just didn't care baout him. He tries to be sweet, but I don't see how any of the choices he makes are okay in Elvie's eyes.

COVER: I love it! It doesn't get better than pink and purple! It's super vibrant and girly.

*I received a copy of this book from Amazon Vine for review.

Friday, October 5, 2012

Lies Beneath Review


TITLE: Lies Beneath
AUTHOR: Anne Greenwood Brown
PUBLISHER: Delacorte Press (Random House)
PAGES: 320
MY RATING: 3.5/5

BACK COVER SUMMARY **Has spoilery tendencies** :  Calder White lives in the cold, clear waters of Lake Superior, the only brother in a family of murderous mermaids. To survive, Calder and his sisters must prey on humans and absorb their positive energy. Usually, they select their victims at random, but this time around, the underwater clan chooses its target for a reason: revenge. They want to kill Jason Hancock, the man they blame for their mother's death.

It's going to take a concerted effort to lure the aquaphobic Hancock onto the water. Calder's job is to gain Hancock's trust by getting close to the family. Relying on his irresistible good looks and charm, Calder sets out to seduce Hancock's daughter Lily. Easy enough, but Calder screws everything up by falling in love - just as Lily starts to suspect there's more to the monster-in-the-lake legends than she ever imagines, and just as the mermaids threaten to take matters into their own hands, forcing Calder to choose between them and the girl he loves.

One thing's for sure: whatever Calder decides, the outcome won't be pretty.

OVERALL IMPRESSION: I liked the story line. I would have liked to hear a little more about the legends that thad been passed thorough the town though. I'm really interested in legends that seem to make their way through small towns and I would have liked to see the comparison of those legends versus the truth of this book. The ending of the story was brilliant - I was not expecting what happened.

CHARACTERS: I didn't feel a huge connection to any of the characters. I thought Sophie was cute and sweet, but I didn't feel like I knew enough about any of the characters. I almost felt a bond with Calder, but it wasn't quite there.

I would have loved to know more about Lily's mother and what she was dealing with.

COVER: I like the cover, but I'm still confused as to why there is a female mermaid on the cover when the main character is a male. Maybe it is supposed to be one of Calder's sisters, but it doesn't make much sense to me.
*I received an ARC copy of this book through Amazon Vine for review.

Monday, October 1, 2012

Scrapbook Layout and Card Share

This past Friday I attended a wedding for my boyfriend's cousin and his bride. I decided to create a scrapbook layout and a handmade card for them and I wanted to share them with you all!